Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 20th, 2012

For all those people out there that do not own a pet, you should.  Pets are the greatest.  I am lucky and have two dogs – Penny, a beautiful yellow lab and Mars, a big strapping English Mastiff.   As a child, my parents would not allow pets in the house – not even fish.   I grew up in a house – sans pets and use to make friends with all the neighborhood pets.  When I was finally on my own I inherited a dog (my boyfriend who now is my husband) had the same no-pet rule in his house so he also wanted to have pets once he was older.  Therefore, I inherited my dog because he purchased Penny and a couple of years later, we moved in together and Penny joined us.  Then we wanted another dog – so we got Mars.

     

For me having dogs is great.  It has shown me what it means to be responsible.  I don’t have children so at this moment in my life – my dogs are my biggest responsibility.  I have to feed them, bathe them, walk them and play with them.  In return they give me unconditional love.  They wag their tails whenever I am around, hang out with me on the sofa when I am watching tv and are always willing to watch the floor for any food that might fall when I am preparing dinner.   Sure sometimes they are a pain in the butt but in the end they are the greatest…and I couldn’t imagine life without them.

So, here are the Best 3…Things About Having Pets:

1.  They love you unconditionally

2.  They make you laugh

3.  They become part of your family

For those that have a pet, think back to times when you are having an awful day (and I mean awful).  You are in no mood to see anyone, you just want to get into comfty clothing, eat your comfort food and tune the world out.  Then you open your front door and there is your pet to greet you (this might not always be the case for cats – but some do), just happy to see you , wagging their tails, eyes bright and happy.  It makes me smile because you realize they have been waiting for you and that they love you no matter what.  That isjust a great feeling that they can provide you.

As for making you laugh, that is so true.  I have never laughed so much as I do because of my dogs.  They do crazy things and you just can;t help but laugh.  I have added a crazy pet video from YouTube – watch the video and you will understand what I mean.

Pets really do become part of your family and that is great.  We bring our dogs everywhere – when we are on vacation (they are there – you have to love hotels that allow dogs – it’s great).  When we go camping – Penny has her own camp chair.  Also, usually when people ask how we are doing, they also ask about the dogs.  They are part of our family and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

AG

Read Full Post »

The Versatile Blogger Award

Thank you to Tammy from The Nourished Seed (thenourishedseed.wordpress.com/) for nominating my blog for The Versatile Blogger Award.  It is really appreciated.

The Rules of Acceptance:

  • Thank the person who gave you this award (done)
  • Include a link to their blog (done)
  • Next, select 15 blogs/bloggers that you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly
  • Nominate those 15 bloggers for the Versatile Blogger Award (9 done…6 more to go)
  • Finally, tell the person who nominated you 7 things about yourself (done)
  • In the same post, include this set of rules (done)
  • Inform each nominated blogger of their nomination by posting a comment on each of their blogs (done)

Here are the blogs that I would like to nominate for The Versatile Blogger Award:

1. weightlossandcorinne.com – This is a great blog and gives me a lot of hope on my own weight loss journey

2. adventuresforlife.wordpress.com – I just discovered this blog and think it’s great – the business cards that are really life cards is great

3.  readmorebooks.wordpress.com/ – love this because I love reading

4.  http://capturingaverage.com/ – This is another great blog that speaks to me – the average girl

5.  http://listography10things.wordpress.com/ – How could I not like this one!  I love lists!

6. http://tryingnottobefat.com/ – The title of the blog says it all – it is something that I can identify with and that is why I follow

7.  http://domesticdivamd.com/ – This blog has great posts – love the recipes

8. http://coffeepoweredmom.wordpress.com/ – Lots of great posts and lots of coffee!

9.  http://nightbites.wordpress.com/ – Love this blog because it is dedicated to The Vampire Diaries – and yes I like that show

The other 6 remaining blogs will be posted soon….

Here are the 7 things about myself:

1.  I love to be outside – doing something like hiking, swimming, etc.

2.  I am the baby of my family

3.  I have two wonderful dogs

4.  My favorite tv show is Sons of Anarchy

5.  I hate celery

6.  My favorite book is Animal Farm by George Orwell

7.  I love to blog and read all the other interesting stuff other bloggers are writing about

Read Full Post »